The Daily Grind

“Many of life’s failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.”

– Thomas Edison

This quote is awesome so I had to give it its due.  I was having a crappy night last night and got into bad head space, wondering how I was going to avoid the injury issues of last year in building volume, and how I would ever get up to the full iron-distance training where I needed to be once my “build” phase comes up in about 10 weeks.  Full of doubt, I thought of this quote, got off the couch and jumped on the bike for a REALLY tough turbo workout.

70 minutes later I was feeling awesome, and jumped off the bike for a transition run on the solid sheets of ice that were the Manhattan streets.  The turbo workout had changed my thinking, and it was no longer “how the hell am I going to do the training I have to do through the next 29 weeks?!”…instead, I was reminding myself that the only way to be great in 29 weeks is by being great right now.  Training is made of a million tiny advances, which inevitably come with a hundred thousand tiny setbacks or more – we’re always just a tiny step away from success (often a step from the couch to the trainer!), because there’s far greater success to be had in the day-to-day tiny victories, than in the one-day final event…since the Ironman, really, is just the next tiny step from final training day to race day.

Today’s Totals:  0:50:00 swim, 1:11:00 bike trainer, 0:19:30 run

Leave a Reply

