Another Week In The Books

Weekly Training Totals:

Swim: 1 hour 55 min
Bike: 7 hrs 48 min
Run: 3 hrs 46 min
Strength: 1 hr 0 min

Total: 14 hrs 29 min

Pretty great week for training – my highest weekly volume since starting, and almost 8 hours on the bike felt awesome.  The 27 miles of running was big for me too, after a previous week of 23.  These have been my 2 most consistent weeks in that department, and very important as I’m working to get my legs under me and control some lower-leg bruising at the same time.  All signs are pointing to the positive as I head into my recovery week, except for a nagging left shoulder pain that I contracted on my last trip home to Ohio (jumped into the pool too fast, didn’t stretch, and jumped the gun without a warm-up).  I’m hoping that it works its way out this week, as this past week it really brought down my volume, and if it doesn’t by swim #2 I’m gonna take it to the doc just to be sure.

I’m racing the Mooseman 70.3 with my sister-in-law Natalie this year, and we’re just 8 weeks out – that’s insane.  Isn’t it supposed to get warm for a good few months before racing starts for the year?!  She’s a fitness instructor, so I need all the time I can get to prep for this one – can’t get chicked by a family member!  In prep for the insanely hilly Mooseman course, my weekend ride came up with 6,366 feet of climbing over 77 miles. This should help, but in this race report from last year that I was reading, this guy talks about the first hill (that we do 2x thanks to the 2-loop format) that has a continuous 16% grade that reduced a bunch of people to walking last year, and several climbs of over a 10% grade throughout the course…this is going to be interesting.  Just thinking about the Mooseman makes me tired – off to bed and up early for tomorrow’s morning swim.

Mooseman elev. profile: ummm...do we still call those "hills"?

Leave a Reply

