The Top 10 of Indoor Ironman Training

The common line of thinking is that indoor training for triathlon – be it a sprint or an Ironman – is a punishment.  I’ll never survive the next six months with an attitude like that!  Thus I give you The Top 10 of Indoor Ironman Training…
  1. Winter training is just as easy to plan as summer training
  2. Wake up at 3 a.m. and can’t get back to bed?  Why not hop on the trainer for a few hours?
  3. Heating the house is much cheaper – from what I can tell, 5 minutes in my room equals about one degree Fahrenheit.
  4. Constant resistance.  1 hour on the trainer = 1.5 on the road…More free time!
  5. Not being on the road for the changing seasons.  It keeps me from dumping money into more gear every day (with a bike shop at mile 5 of my rides in NYC, I swear every ride cost me a minimum of $30).
  6. The bike constantly cries for attention – it’s very hard to ignore there, basically sitting on the couch next to me, so missing workouts is much harder.
  7. No 5:00 a.m. wake-up calls to get a swim lane.
  8. Forget something on a bike ride, and only realize 15 miles in?  For me, it’s still only 15 feet away.
  9. Hot and humid race venue to prep for?  No problem!  Just close the window.
  10. Catching up on TV has never felt so healthy

To follow this blog, click subscribe on the right sidebar.

3 Responses

  1. I’m sorry but Indoor Training is the WORST! I am not looking forward to it at all this winter!

    • in my heart of hearts i completely agree with you, but for the sake of my survival this year, i have to say “no way!! indoor training ROCKS!!”

      good luck this winter Jocelyn! 🙂

  2. Haha, I love #2 and I think the older lady that lives below my NYC pad does too 😉

Leave a Reply

